More European countries to phase out amalgam!

Three more European countries – Ireland, Finland, and Slovakia – have announced plans to phase out amalgam use! Charles G. Brown President of World Alliance for Mercury-Free Dentistry said that their intense European campaign resulted in a new European Union regulation that banned the use of amalgam in children under 15 years old, pregnant women, and breastfeeding mothers, starting 1 July 2018. That same regulation requires EU countries to submit national plans to phase down their overall use of amalgam.

So they took action:

  • They sent EU countries guidance to assist in constructing an effective national plan.
  • Their European team members had meetings with key government officials.
  • They worked with other nonprofit groups in the same way they create coalitions on every continent, including North America.
Charles G. Brown also mentioned that Ireland, Finland, and Slovakia released national plans that will end all amalgam use on a timetable. These countries will be joining Sweden (a fellow EU member state) and Norway (a non-EU country) in leading the way to mercury-free dentistry for Europe.

“We congratulate these countries on taking this important step to protect our planet and patients from this outdated mercury product. Now the heat is on U.S. FDA and Health Canada to get off the dime”! – said Charles G. Brown President of World Alliance for Mercury-Free Dentistry.